Book Club Selections

Tuesday Night Book Club Selections

The Tuesday Night Book Club meets on the second Tuesday evening of the month at 6:30 pm via ZOOM.  New members are welcome! Let us know if you’d like to join.

July 2021

The Immortalists,
by Chloe Benjamin

Sneaking out to get readings from a traveling psychic reputed to be able to tell customers when they will die, four adolescent siblings from New York City’s Lower East Side embark on five decades of experiences shaped by their determination to control fate.

 

2nd Wednesday Book Club Selections

The 2nd Wednesday Book Club meets at 1:00 pm the second Wednesday of each month.

June 2021

Before We Were Yours, by Lisa Wingate

“Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge–until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents–but they quickly realize the dark truth.” Adult Fiction

July 2021

The color of water : a black man’s tribute to his white mother
by James McBride

A young African-American man describes growing up in an all-black Brooklyn housing project, one of twelve children of a white mother and black father, and discusses his mother’s contributions to his life and coming to terms with his confusion over his own identity.

 

August 2021

Finding Chika : a little girl, an earthquake, and the making of a family
by Mitch Albom

The best-selling author of Tuesdays With Morrie traces the inspirational story of a child from The Have Faith Haiti Orphanage, whose short life of poverty and incurable illness prompted her loving adoption into his family.

 

September 2021

The giver of stars
by Jojo Moyes

Volunteering for Eleanor Roosevelt’s new traveling library in small-town Kentucky, an English bride joins a group of independent women whose commitment to their job transforms the community and their relationships. By the best-selling author of Me Before You. (romance).